Insidious

Posted: May 13, 2011 by TME (thats my e) in Movies, Reviews
Tags: , , , , , , ,

By: Melissa lopez

Genre: Horror

Rating: PG-13

U.S. Release date: April 1, 2011

Run Time: 103 mins

Cast: Patrick Wilson, Rose Byrne and Ty Simpkins

Director: James Wan

Producer: Aaron Sims, John R. Leonetti, Jeanette Brill, Brian Kavanaugh-Jones, Oren Peli, Jason Blum,

Screenplay by: Leigh Whannel

Rating: Amazing and Original

Insidious focuses on the family of a young boy whose spirit leaves his body at night when he sleeps.  When the young boy drifts too far into what is called the “further” he becomes trapped by a strong evil spirit who wants to come back in his body and raise havoc. However  there is not just one evil spirit trying to get their hands on the boy’s body, the longer he stays in the “Further” the stronger the spirits get and the closer and closer they come to taking over the body. They continue to not only haunt the boy but his family too. When the family finally seeks outside help, they discover that this is not just something random but other members of the family have had this problem.

 For years,  I have waited for the movie industry to give me a good hair raising scary movie; one that will make me jump. I want a scary movie that will have me turning on the hallway lights while I use the bathroom in the middle of the night. The last movie to give me nightmares for weeks was the 1999 remake of House on Haunted Hill; a close runner up was in 2008 with the film Quarantine .  

 Insidious comes out in theaters and I hear many comments on how scary it is. I had to see for myself , so my husband and I went together and watched this movie. It had an interesting opening credits.  Images of faces in mirrors and people behind doors suddenly appeared, which set me up for what kind of movie it would be. The buildup of the relationship with the characters was done timely; not spending too much time on the talking but not jumping straight into suspense in a tacky way.

The movie picked up when you saw the first sight of the “ghost” that is terrorizing the family and (needless to say) everyone in the theater jumped and several women screamed! I knew in that moment that this movie would be my scary movie of the year! It made me jump so much, I covered my eyes through many parts afraid of what would be burned in my mind for weeks to come. Slow moments were kept light with the comic relief of several characters.

                All together Insidious was a great movie, the story was original and creative, the casting was dead on, and the cinematography was done really well. Insidious was so scary that I still feel chills when I walk into a dark room and my husband continues to turn the lights on when he gets up at night or as he walks through the house. Definitely a must see film but not good for those who scare TOO easily, mental therapy may be required.

Closely related movies: A Haunting in Conneticut, House on Haunted Hill, IT, and any of the Freddy Kruger movies aside from the most recent 2009 addition. If your looking for a movie that will have you rather wet the bed then get up and walk down a dark hallway at night, then these are the ones I recommend!

Leave a Reply

