Looking For Unique Movie Experiences in 2012

Posted: January 16, 2012 by tmepost in Movies, Previews

By Sean McQuillan

As I’m starting a new year, I’m looking ahead at 2012 and I see sequels and remakes as far as the eye can see. We’ve got Bond 23 (Skyfall), the Batman threequel, two new looks at the Snow White Story, Spiderman reboot, Total Recall reboot, Aliens prequel, and more. While I am excited for some of these films I want something new. I want something to blow me away with it’s originality and immersion. I got that in 2010 with Nolan’s Inception, and I want it again.  So when I told my boss about this, she asked me to pick which movies I think might scratch that itch and share it with you folks.  So without further adieu, here’s what I’m excited for with 2012

3.  John Carter (Of Mars)

Okay, the the Disney version looks more like Starwars and less like the side of a Van.

I want this to be good.  John Carter is a soldier in the Civil War and somehow finds himself lost from our world and onto a savage and brutal Mars.  This movie definitely has so amazing visuals showcased in it’s trailer. While I’m not sure I approve of them shaving the interesting bit off the title, I remain very optimistic for one reason.  Willem Dafoe.  Seriously, I’d watch any movie with him, even New Rose Hotel with Christopher Walken and that was dross.  Don’t disappoint me Disney.

 

 

 

2.  Upside Down

Love lifts us up where we belong, it's gravity that's a spoilsport

The visuals in this piece are already breathtaking and remind me of The Fountain and that’s never a bad thing.  While Dunst continues her career of gravity defying romances, it’s great to see Jim Sturgess take center stage again.  I loved him in 21 and if you haven’t seen it check it out.  While I know this is a telling of West Side Story, which is a telling of Romeo and Juliet, this takes it to a whole new level and looks to deliver something extraordinary.  Besides, everything is a remix.
Watch the Trailer Here

 

 

1.  Chronicle

This may very well be a documetary about the discovery of The Force

 

This is hands down what I’m most excited for this year.  It looks like a wonderfully modern and realistic view of what a group of teens would do if they discovered they have super powers.  It looks like most of if it shot from the perspective of their own recordings, but is thankfully free of the shaky camera work that plagued Cloverfield.  This type of movie is right in my wheelhouse, and I think this will be a sleeper hit.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

